Fermentation

 Fermentation

Fermentation Control

Fermentation refers to the conversion of organic material by microorganisms such as bacteria, fungi or single-celled organisms or their enzymes. Originally, fermentation was used to describe a biotic reaction in the absence of air. Today, fermentation includes any technical bioreaction. For example, (bio)ethanol as well as medical products such as insulin and a variety of antibiotics are produced on a large scale in bioreactors – so-called fermenters – with the help of microorganisms.

Inline and Online Monitoring

The inline or online monitoring of fermentation processes is becoming increasingly important. The industry is increasingly demanding fast and accurate analytical methods in order to optimize cultivation conditions and reduce fermentation times. For the most part, product-specific analysis is performed offline. However, such a procedure is labor-intensive and expensive. With offline measurements, it is also problematic that there is a time lag between the fermentation process and the analytical result. Especially in batch fermentations, overproduction can lead to by-products and degradation products. Therefore, timely, process-integrated online analysis is important in order to be able to control the fermentation process in a targeted manner. Our Gas and liquid analyzer Vario two. measures volatile substances with an interface to the bioreactor faster, more sensitively and more cost-effectively.

Sample Measurements

In the following section, measurements are shown which have already been carried out in the laboratory with our liquid analyzer Vario one. The liquid inlet of the membrane inlet mass spectrometer allows substances to be measured directly and online from the liquid. A standard membrane is used. Select the application from which you want to view the measurement. Then the associated experiment is displayed with all results and data.

Monitoring of the Ethanol Concentration in a Fermentation Process

The starting materials for bioethanol are the sugars (carbohydrates) contained in plants, which ferment with the help of enzymes from microorganisms or yeast fungi to produce ethanol (potable alcohol). Fermentation is complete when either the sugar is consumed or a maximum alcohol concentration is reached.

Measurement

Ethanol-Fermentation

Sector

Bioethanol Production

Device

Vario one.

Inlet

In Situ Inlet

Measurement Task

The ethanol concentration was measured with the Vario one. Liquid analyzer in the bioreactor in continuous operation. This is an inline measurement process, so that measurements are taken in real time without any sampling or sample preparation. An in-situ inlet was used here. The course of the ethanol concentration can be easily followed directly on the screen in real time. In the reference measurement, the ethanol concentration was determined by HPLC as an offline analytical method. Here, in contrast to the inline measurement, samples are taken, then subjected to sample preparation in a laboratory and subsequently measured.

Result

Conclusion

The measurement results of the Variolytics technology, which were generated in real time in a fermenter, are confirmed by the reference measurement using (offline) HPLC. This shows that Variolytics’ MIMS technology delivers the same results as long established analytical methods. All this with less time required due to unnecessary sampling and sample preparation and in real time, so that the process can be directly controlled with the generated measurement data.

Contact

Thanks for your interest in Variolytics!

If you would like to get in touch with us, please fill out the contact form. We look forward to your message. Special inquiries or cooperation opportunities are also always welcome! Our team will get back to you as soon as possible.

Variolytics GmbH

  Meitnerstraße 6, 70563 Stuttgart DE
  +49 711 2525 9620

  info@variolytics.com

Thank you, your request has been sent. We will take care of your inquiry as soon as possible.
There was an error trying to send your message. Please try again later.

Knowledge

Support

Follow us

Fermentation

 Fermentation

Fermentationssteuerung

Fermentation bezeichnet die Umwandlung von organischem Material durch Mikroorganismen wie Bakterien, Pilze oder auch Einzeller bzw. deren Enzyme. Ursprünglich wurde mit Fermentation eine biotische Reaktion unter Ausschluss von Luft bezeichnet. Heute umfasst die Fermentation jegliche technische Bioreaktion. So wird beispielsweise (Bio)-Ethanol als auch medizinische Produkte wie Insulin und eine Vielzahl von Antibiotika mit Hilfe von Mikroorganismen großtechnisch in Bioreaktoren – sogenannten Fermentern – hergestellt.

Inline und Online Überwachung

Die inline- oder online-Überwachung von Fermentationsprozessen gewinnt zu­nehmend an Bedeutung. Dabei werden von der Industrie vermehrt schnelle und genaue Analysenmethoden gefordert, um Kultivierungsbedingungen zu optimieren und die Fermentationsdauer zu reduzieren. Eine produktspezifische Analytik erfolgt größtenteils offline. Eine solche Prozedur ist jedoch arbeitsaufwändig und teuer. Bei offline Messungen ist es auch problematisch, dass eine zeitliche Verzögerung zwischen Fermentationsprozess und Analysenergebnis entsteht. Insbesondere bei Batch-Fermentationen kann es bei einer Überproduktion zu Neben- und Abbauprodukten kommen. Deshalb ist eine zeitnahe, prozessintegrierte Online-Analytik wichtig, um den Fermentationsprozess gezielt steuern zu können. Unser Gas- und Flüssig-Analysator Vario two. misst leichtflüchtige Substanzen mit einer Schnittstelle zum Bioreaktor schneller, empfindlicher und kostengünstiger.

Beispielmessungen

Im folgenden Abschnitt werden Messungen gezeigt, die bereits mit unserem Flüssig-Analysator Vario one. im Labor durchgeführt wurden. Durch den Flüssigeinlass des Membran-Einlass-Massenspektrometers können die Stoffe direkt und online aus der Flüssigkeit gemessen werden. Es wird eine Standardmembran verwendet. Wählen Sie die Anwendung, von dem Sie die Messung einsehen wollen. Dann wird das zugehörige Experiment mit allen Ergebnissen und Daten angezeigt.

Monitoring der Ethanol Konzentration bei einem Fermentationsprozess

Die Ausgangsstoffe für Bioethanol sind die in Pflanzen enthaltenen Zucker (Kohlenhydrate), die mit Hilfe von Enzymen von Mikroorganismen oder Hefepilzen zu Ethanol (Trinkalkohol) vergären. Die Fermentation ist dann abgeschlossen, wenn entweder der Zucker verbraucht oder eine maximale Alkoholkonzentration erreicht ist.

Messung

Ethanol-Fermentation

Branche

Bioethanol Herstellung

Gerät

Vario one.

Einlass

In-situ Einlass

Messaufgabe

Die Ethanol Konzentration wurde mit dem Vario one. Flüssiganalysator im Bioreaktor im Dauerbetrieb gemessen. Hierbei handelt es sich um einen Inline-Messprozess, sodass ohne jegliche Probennahme und Probenvorbereitung in Echtzeit gemessen wird. Hier wurde ein In-situ Einlass verwendet. Der Verlauf der Ethanol-Konzentration kann problemlos und in Echtzeit direkt auf dem Bildschirm mitverfolgt werden. Bei der Referenz-Messung wurde die Ethanol-Konzentration mittels HPLC als Offline-Analytik Methode bestimmt. Hier werden im Unterschied zur Inline-Messung Proben entnommen, dann einer Probenvorbereitung in einem Labor unterzogen und anschließend gemessen.

Ergebnis

Fazit

Die Messergebnisse der Variolytics Technologie, welche in Echtzeit in einem Fermenter generiert wurden, werden durch die Referenz-Messung mittels (offline) HPLC bestätigt. Dies zeigt, dass die MIMS-Technologie von Variolytics die gleichen Ergebnisse wie langjährig etablierte Analysemethoden liefert. All das bei weniger Zeitaufwand durch nicht nötige Probennahme und Probenvorbereitung sowie in Echtzeit, sodass der Prozess mit den generierten Messdaten direkt gesteuert werden kann.

Kontakt

Vielen Dank für Ihr Interesse !

Wenn Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung setzen möchten, füllen Sie bitte das Kontaktformular aus. Unser Team ist bemüht eine schnelle Antwort zu geben und ist immer daran interessiert, spezielle Anfragen oder eine Zusammenarbeit zu besprechen. Wir freuen uns von Ihnen zu hören!

Variolytics GmbH

  Meitnerstraße 6, 70563 Stuttgart DE
  +49 711 2525 9620

  info@variolytics.com

Danke, ihre Anfrage wurde verschickt. Wir kümmern uns so schnell als möglich um Ihr Anliegen.
Beim Senden Ihrer Nachricht ist ein Fehler aufgetreten. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.